SidelineSwap, an online marketplace for buying and selling sports gear, announced its second annual Gear For a Year Scholarships, offering six $500 scholarships to student athletes to purchase gear for their upcoming season.

The scholarship hinges on a 1,000-word essay about the positive impact sports have had on the students’ lives and what winning this #GearForAYear scholarship would mean for the their upcoming sports season. Winners are selected by an independent panel of judges, including sports industry executives and professional athletes such as Ryan O’Rourke, pitcher for the Baltimore Orioles. These judges will not only take into account passion for the sport, but the students’ overall attitude and drive. Last year, the winning athletes used the funds towards gear for their season, while all other income is typically allocated towards school and general amenities like gas and food.

“Last year we heard some incredible stories from our applicants about the positive impact sports can have,” said Brendan Candon, CEO of SidelineSwap. “Athletes told us how sports helped them to develop a positive self-image, get in shape, make new friends and even get into college. We’re excited to hear some more stories this year and to play a part in making their sport more affordable.” 

SidelineSwap was built by former athletes for athletes, with the goal of making sports gear more affordable. On average, buyers can save 50 percent off retail price just by shopping for lightly used gear, a huge draw for the site’s user base, which is predominately high school and college students.

“I was awarded SidelineSwap’s scholarship last year and it made a huge difference in my season,” said Briana Johnson, a softball player in Brooklyn, MI. “Softball is something that really keeps me going and I can’t imagine what my life would be without it. I’ve had to pick up a part-time job to help pay for my car, insurance and gas in addition to club and gear costs for softball. This scholarship helped ease some of that financial pressure.”

Applications are open until February 1 and the winners will be announced on March 1, 2018. To apply, visit