The National Ski Areas Association (NSAA) on Tuesday announced two new members to the association’s board of directors: Wesley (Wes) Kryger (president, Greek Peak and Toggenburg mountains) and J.R. Murray (general manager, Arizona Snowbowl). 

Both bring a wealth of experience to the association’s board and will offer guidance to NSAA to help bolster its initiatives.

NSAA President/CEO Kelly Pawlak said she welcomes the unique perspectives that Kryger and Murray have gained over their years of work in the ski industry.

“We will look to Wes’s viewpoint on running smaller, independently-owned ski areas and to J.R.’s experience operating on public lands in the Southwest. Each will be an important perspective for our board to hear,” Pawlak said.

Born in Virgil, NY, Wes Kryger began his ski industry career at Greek Peak Mountain Resort, first as a snowmaker and later as a lift mechanic and night manager. He served as general manager of Deer Run Ski Resort in Stanford, NY, for several years before returning to his home mountain of Greek Peak. He worked in various leadership roles before being promoted to president of Greek Peak and its sister resort, Toggenburg Mountain, in 2013. Kryger currently serves on the boards of the Ski Areas of New York and the New York State Tramway Advisory Council and is a member of the Cortland County Chamber of Commerce.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve on the NSAA Board. I hope to contribute to the NSAA mission and learn from the other board members and their experience,” said Kryger.

J.R. Murray grew up in Iowa and began his ski industry career as a lift operator at Loveland Ski Area, CO, later taking positions at Snowbasin, Utah and at Sun Valley, Idaho. Murray has spent the past 33 years at Arizona Snowbowl in Flagstaff, AZ, in many capacities including marketing director, F&B, resort services director and, for the past 28 years, general manager. He serves as a member on many boards in the community, including the NSAA Public Lands Committee, the Northern Arizona Healthcare Foundation advisory committee and Northern Arizona University Real Estate Holdings LLC. Murray is also a founding member of the Flagstaff CEO leadership organization.

“There are so many moving parts to our business and industry that require day-to-day attention with focus on the future,” Murray said. “I love the challenges and fun factor of providing quality outdoor recreation, and I appreciate the opportunity to serve on the NSAA Board and share my enthusiasm and commitment to the ski industry.”

The NSAA board of directors comprises 28 members representing eight regions. Board members serve three-year terms. The NSAA board exists to foster and promote the interests of all ski area and supplier members, focusing on safety, guest experience, sustainability, policy and participation.