Cari Higgins was elected as chair of USA Cycling’s board of directors. Higgins was previously the board’s vice chair.

A 23-time national champion, Higgins has been an advocate for amateur and elite racers. She also represents the national governing body as a member of the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Committee (USOPC), Athlete Advisory Council (AAC) and USA Cycling’s Athlete Advisory Council.

Greg Allen was elected as the board’s vice chair.

“Higgins has made an incredible impact in her time serving on the board of directors for the past two years and will continue charging forward as the chairwoman and making an impact on the future of USA Cycling,” said president & CEO, Brendan Quirk.

USA Cycling also formed an Athlete Advisory Council.

Higgins is USA Cycling’s representative on the USOPC’s AAC, with Alison Tetrick acting as the alternate. Working within USOPC guidelines, USA Cycling formed an AAC to give athletes a voice across cycling disciplines.

The board of directors has 12 representatives, with four serving as athlete representatives—USOPC AAC representatives Higgins and Tetrick and Meredith Miller and Maddie Godby. The four will gather with the six newly appointed USA Cycling’s Athlete Advisory Council members.

New USA Cycling AAC members include:

  • Cory Coffey, BMX Freestyle
  • Kate Courtney, Mountain Bike
  • Andrea Dvorak, Road
  • Connor Fields, BMX Racing
  • Clara Honsinger, Cyclocross
  • Lily Williams, Track

The USOPC determines eligibility to run for the Athlete Advisory Council seats. The pool of candidates and electorate is limited to athletes representing the U.S. at the Olympic Games, UCI World Championships or Pan American Games within the past ten years.