Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar announced the appointments of 19 individuals to the Sport Fishing and Boating Partnership Council, an advisory panel created in 1993 to advise the Secretary on nationally significant recreational fishing, boating and aquatic resource conservation issues.


The announcement was made on Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C. at the Congressional Sportsmens Foundation reception for members of Congress.
This council plays a vital role in exploring ways to increase boating and angling participation, particularly youth participation, while conserving our precious aquatic resources said Salazar. The wealth of experience and expertise offered by both returning and new council members is impressive and their efforts will most assuredly enable us to reconnect more people with boating, fishing and the natural world.
The Secretary announced the appointment of the following individuals-whose terms begin immediately-to serve on the Council for the upcoming two-year term:
James Adams of the States Organization for Boating Access
James Anderson of the Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
Lynne Borden of the University of Arizona
Douglass Boyd of the Coastal Conservation Association
Jeffrey Crane of the Congressional Sportsmens Foundation
Thomas Dammrich of the National Marine Manufacturers Association
Ned Dikmen of the Great Lakes Boating Federation
Chris Horton of the Bass Anglers Sportsman Society
Betty Huskins of the Southeastern Tourism Policy Council
Scott Kovarivics of the Izaak Walton League of America
Ryck Lydecker of BoatUS
Michael Nussman of the American Sportfishing Association
Geoff Ratte of Water Gremlin Company
John Sprague of the Marine Industries Association of Florida
Roy Elicker, Director of the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
David Graham, Chief of the Ohio Division of Wildlife.
Three alternate Council appointments, who may attend meetings and vote when the primary member is unable to attend, were also announced. Alternates are Maria del Valle Hamilton of the American Sportfishing Association; Steve Miller of the States Organization for Boating Access; and Gary Kania of the Congressional Sportsmens Foundation.