The Bicycle Product Suppliers Association (BPSA), responding to the current and future needs of its members, has created an Electric Bicycle committee, chaired by Larry Pizzi, president of Currie Technologies Inc., a unit of Accell North America.

The committee will meet by teleconference the week before Interbike to set priorities in the three areas of BPSA expertise and influence: Statistics, Safety, and Legal/Legislative.

“Our main goal is to establish a common and unified ‘electric bicycle’ voice amongst the supplier community,” Pizzi noted. “Now that we have a representative group of suppliers and manufacturers, we can set specific goals and take action.”

Besides Pizzi, committee members include:

  • Darren Snyder from Trek
  • Chad Price from Specialized
  • John Munhall from Giant
  • Zach Kraphl from Felt
  • Don DiCostanzo from Pedego
  • Jeffrey Young from Shimano
  • Claudia Wasko from Bosch
  • Rob Cappucci from SRAM