Accell Group N.V. appointed Ton Anbeek as its new chief executive officer and chairman of the board of directors.

Anbeek, currently CEO of Beter Bed Holding N.V., becomes the permanent replacement for longtime CEO and chairman Rene Takens, who announced in February that he was retiring. Hielke Sybesma, Accell’s CFO, has served as interim CEO since April. He officially takes over November 1.

As of November 1, the board of directors will consist of four members: Ton Anbeek (CEO), Hielke Sybesma (CFO), Jeroen Snijders Blok (COO) and Jeroen Both (CSCO).

As CEO of Accell Group, Anbeek will be responsible for the implementation of the strategy Accell Group announced earlier this year.

As stated earlier by Ab Pasman, chairman of the supervisory board of Accell Group: “We are very pleased that we have found Ton Anbeek willing to join Accell Group as its new CEO. Ton Anbeek has experience in the field of marketing, sales, retail and omni-channel e-commerce. His experience combined with his personal integrity and leadership style make him very suitable to head Accell Group.”

Anbeek started his professional career in 1987 at Unilever, where he held various positions in marketing and sales at various operating companies in the Netherlands and abroad. These positions included Global Marketing Director for all Unilever fabric softener brands and Managing Director Unilever Mahgreb S.A. (Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco and Mauretania). Early 2007 he joined Koninklijke Auping B.V. in Deventer as the company’s General Director. Early 2010 Ton Anbeek was appointed CEO of Beter Bed Holding N.V.

Supervisory Board Member Stepping Down
During the EGM it was announced that Aad Kuiper, member of the Supervisory Board, will step down with immediate effect. Kuiper can no longer combine the increased intensity of his work for Accell Group with his responsibilities at Hunter Douglas, and therefore ceases his duties as a member of the Supervisory Board with immediate effect. The selection procedure for a new member of the Supervisory Board will be started. Until the appointment of a new member, the Supervisory Board will consist of three members: Ab Pasman (chairman of the supervisory Board), Jan van den Belt (vice-president of the supervisory board) and Peter Ernsting (member of the supervisory board).

Accell Group’s best known brands are Haibike (Germany), Winora (Germany), Batavus (Netherlands), Sparta (Netherlands), Koga (Netherlands), Lapierre (France), Ghost (Germany), Raleigh and Diamondback (UK, US, Canada), Tunturi (Finland), Atala (Italy), Redline (US), Loekie (Netherlands) and XLC (international).

Photo courtesy Raleigh