Running USA announced that Rich Harshbarger will be stepping down as CEO of Running USA effective August 1 as the organization has “determined that it is time for new leadership.” He has been CEO since 2014.

Prior to his appointment, he was a marketing and communications executive for the Gannett Company for 20 years and was also the executive race director for the Detroit Marathon.

The following is an update on the move from the Running USA Board of Directors.

To our Running USA membership:

As you know, our industry is facing many challenges, including consolidation, globalization, increased competition, an urgent need to address diversity and inclusion, and the long-term economic and operational impacts of COVID-19.

These challenges, however, create new opportunities for our industry and our membership. As we focus on our growth strategy to rise beyond the challenges, we have determined that it is time for new leadership within our organization.

Rich Harshbarger will be stepping down as the CEO of Running USA, effective August 1, 2020. All of us on the Board of Directors are grateful for Rich’s dedication over the past six years, and we wish him the best of luck as he makes his next career move.

You can read more about the transition plan we have developed here.

Running USA is committed to addressing the increased needs and desires of our members, as well as enhancing our role as a trusted leader and valuable resource in the running industry. Over the next several weeks and months, we will continue to innovate and announce new initiatives and opportunities focused on helping each of our members emerge stronger from the ongoing industry changes than we were before the challenges began.

We remain optimistic and excited for the future of our industry.

Thank you for your continued support.

The Running USA Board of Directors
Jeff Matlow (President)
Matt West (Vice President)
Lonnie Somers (Treasurer)
Heidi Swartz (Secretary)
Tanner Bell
Alex Bennett
Virginia Brophy Achman
Tim Cole
Donna Grogan
Stevie Jones
Bryan Lively
Kyle McLaughlin
Meghan Najera
Troy Schooley
Max Siegel
Tony Yamanaka