The Outdoor Industries Women’s Coalition (OIWC), the only organization focused on the inclusion of women in the outdoors from participant to CEO, issued its annual call for nominations for the Pioneering Woman Award and First Ascent Award in the bicycle industry.

These awards were established by the OIWC to honor women who have made significant achievements in the bicycle industry while working toward greater diversity and inclusion in the workplace.

“Recipients represent the present and future generations of innovative leaders in the bicycle industry,” said Deanne Buck, executive director, OIWC. “Recognizing these leaders for their influence and impact is just one of many ways OIWC is ensuring the bicycle industry is a place where women can excel and thrive.”

The Pioneering Woman Award honors an industry leader who has proven leadership skills and has paved the way for other women and the First Ascent Award honors an up-and-coming leader who shows strong potential for being an industry influencer.

Past winners include Jessica Klodnicki, Bell Helmets and Blackburn;  Jenn Dice, People for Bikes; Marilyn Price, Trips for Kids;Jennifer Pagels, Trek Bicycle; and Milay Galvez, Advanced Sports Inc.

OIWC recognizes that women leaders and a diversified workforce are good for business. OIWC’s Pioneering Woman and First Ascent Awards celebrate the visible impact of the advancement of women both inside and outside the companies where they work.

“There are many amazing women transforming the bicycle industry and the OIWC Leadership Awards are an excellent opportunity to highlight their efforts,” says Amy Luther, OIWC Program Director.  “I encourage all in the bicycle industry to take a moment to honor a woman who has contributed to the growth and expansion of the industry, as well as had a positive impact on the lives of those around them.”

Nominations must be completed and submitted by July 29 at 11:59 p.m. MDT.  Winners will be announced at Interbike 2016 in Las Vegas.