Keen EMEA Managing Director John Jansen has been elected the newest member of the board of directors of the European Outdoor Group (EOG).

Jansen, who has three decades of experience in business, is president of the European Outdoor Conservation Association (EOCA), and joins a board that is populated by senior executives from some of Europes leading outdoor brands. The election was held during the EOGs recent annual general assembly in Munich.

In line with the EOG bylaws, Jansen was elected as an additional board member. The existing board members were elected during the 2012 Annual General Assembly and have another year to serve in their term of office.

“John brings with him deep experience of the wider sporting goods market and has shown great commitment to our sector as President of EOCA,” said David Udberg, President of the EOG. “Based in the Netherlands and managing a subsidiary of an American company, he also brings additional international insight to the board and to the organisation as a whole.

Jansen said that in recent years, he had witnessed how the EOG has developed and appreciates the very important role that it plays.

“As the outdoor industry continues to mature and find its place as a global player, the activities of the EOG will become even more vital and I look forward to making a full contribution to that work,” Jansen said.

The European Outdoor Group was founded in 2003 to represent the common interests of the European outdoor industry and encourage collaboration on key issues. Nearly all of the biggest European outdoor brands, or international brands with relevant market share in Europe, work through the EOG to ensure the future success of the sector.

EOG board members are elected for two years and the current make up fully reflects the international and diverse character of todays outdoor business. All seven board members are from different parts of Europe and the business models they represent vary from specialised family run SMEs to global multi-brand players in the sporting goods industry.

The EOG board consists of:

David Udberg (President, UK); Bernd Kullmann (Vice President, Ger)-CEO of Deuter Sport;
Eddy Codega (Treasurer, IT)-President of C.A.M.P.;
Rolf Schmid (CH)-CEO of Mammut Sports Group;
Jean- Marc Pambet-President of Footwear Amer Sports and President of Salomon SAS;
Martin Axelhed (SE)-CEO Fjällräven International AB & Vice President Fenixoutdoor AB; and
John Jansen (NL)-MD of Keen EMEA.