Burton said that instead of having two events down under in 2009, it has decided to combine the Australian Open and the New Zealand Open into one premier Southern Hemisphere event taking place in New Zealand.

“Heading into a busy Olympic year, we’ve decided to reduce the number of events to free up some room in the global events calendar,” said Liam Griffin, Global Events Director for Burton. “We’re totally committed to the riders who support the series, and are trying to make it easier for everybody to hit all the different events they need to this coming season.”

Burton made the announcement while announcing dates for its 2009/2010 international snowboard competition series, which will kick off in New Zealand this summer. Below are dates and locations for all 2009/2010 Burton Global Open Series events.

  • New Zealand Open August 11-15, 2009 Cardrona Alpine Resort, New Zealand
  • European Open January 9-16, 2010 Laax, Switzerland
  • Canadian Open February 2-7, 2010 Canada Olympic Park, Calgary, Alberta
  • Asian Open March 2-7, 2010 ALTS Bandai, Japan
  • US Open March 16-21, 2010 Stratton Mountain Resort, USA

All five Burton Global Open Series events offer riders the chance to earn points towards male and female championship titles, which are awarded at the US Open in Stratton, Vermont.

The Burton Global Open Series is also part of the Swatch Ticket To Ride (TTR) World Snowboard Tour, the largest group of independent freestyle snowboard events in the world. The Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour Champions are crowned at the end of the season.

Go211.com is the official webcaster of the BGOS and home to live scoring, standings, rider bios and more for each Burton Global Open Series stop.