The 2017 U.S. Alpine Ski Team has officially been announced for the 2016-17 season. The U.S. Ski Team, which consists of 50 athletes (31 men and 19 women), is broken down into A, B, C and Development Teams as well as a University Team, all of which receive program support, access to the USSA Center of Excellence, coaching, sport science, sports medicine, high performance staff and education opportunities.

The A team includes big-name skiers including Lindsey Vonn (Ski & Snowboard Club Vail/Buck Hill Ski Team), Bode Miller (Carrabassett Valley Academy), Ted Ligety (Park City Ski Team) and Mikaela Shiffrin (Burke Mountain Academy/Ski and Snowboard Club Vail).

Squaw Valley Alpine Meadows, with five members, is the most represented club. A Team members Travis Ganong and Julia Mancuso, B Team member Bryce Bennett, C Team member Erik Arvidsson and Development Team member Keely Cashman came up through the Squaw Valley Alpine Meadows development system and have seen success in International Ski Federation (FIS) competition.

“We are extremely proud of our five athletes who have been named to the U.S. Ski Team,” said Todd Kelly, Squaw Valley Alpine Meadows Teams program director. “Having five athletes named to the team is a testament to the quality and dedication of both our coaching staff and resort management. With incredible terrain and conditions for training, our staff has been fortunate enough to work with the sports elite as well as our youth who remain the future of alpine ski racing.”